Formerly known as the STC Technical Publications and STC Online Communication competitions, this competition offers you the chance  to have your technical communications products reviewed by technical communication peers.

Competition categories represent the materials’ intent, rather than the media it is delivered on:

  • Informational Materials
  • Instructional Materials
  • Promotional Materials
  • User Support Materials

Whether or not your entry wins an award, you will receive valuable feedback on your entry to help grow your professional development.


  • All entrants receive detailed comments from the judges; this objective peer evaluation supports continuous improvement
  • Winners receive awards from peers, providing a tangible recognition of achievement
  • Winning entries are displayed and awards are presented at spectrum, the STC Rochester Chapter’s annual conference
  • Winners of the Distinguished Technical Communication award automatically qualify for entry into STC’s International Technical Publications Competition

Who is eligible?

The STC Summit Awards are open to everyone who produces technical communication. Entrants do not have to be members of STC. You may enter work as an individual or on behalf of a colleague or subordinate.


Entries must:

  • contain sufficient technical, scientific, medical, or similar content to qualify as technical communication
  • have been produced or substantially revised within 24 months preceding September 1, 2010
  • have been originally prepared for and accepted for publication by a client, employer, or publisher

Entries are subject to all restrictions listed in the General Information and Competition Rules.

How are the competitions structured?

STC offers two levels of competition:

  • Local and regional competitions
  • Society (international) competitions

Local and regional competitions are the first level of competition and are sponsored by single or multiple chapters or special interest groups.

The Society (international) competitions are the final level of competition. Only winners of the Distinguished and Excellence in Technical Communication at the local or regional level are eligible for the Society competition. Eligible entrants will be notified regarding the next steps.

What awards are given?

Three levels of recognition are awarded in each competition category. These awards, in descending order, are:

  • Distinguished Technical Communication (DTC)
  • Excellence
  • Merit

One Best of Show award is presented for each of the four divisions.

  • Informational Materials
  • Instructional Materials
  • Promotional Materials
  • User Support Materials